Jack Who? by Chelsea Crosby

February 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm, thousands of people all over the country logged onto Track29.co to purchase tickets to a Jack White concert.

Jack White

Jack White. Single "Love Interruption"

But not just any concert. This would be his very first stop on his very first solo tour here in little ole’ Chattanooga, TN. Just 20 minutes later the show was completely sold out. I told my then significant other, who is a major Jack White fan, I would be getting him tickets for Valentine’s day, the only problem…they hadn’t gone on sale yet. I had been extremely lucky in making my final purchase at 1:10. 2 tickets to see Jack White. Fans all over the country were either boasting about their recent ticket purchase or grieving about being a minute too late. After discussing the concert with some family and friends I learned I wasn’t the only one who didn’t know exactly who Jack White was, but I was definitely the only one who didn’t know who he was yet had tickets to his concert. I was a little caught off guard by the response that followed the concert announcement. What have I done? I now hold a potentially $300 ticket in my hand for a guy who I only recognize by his name while some of my best friends, some of his biggest fans, left the ticket booth empty-handed. Of course that feeling turned into curiosity and I knew I had to keep this ticket. In the days leading up to the concert I did my homework and made sure to keep “Love Interruption” (the first single off of his upcoming album Blunderbuss) on repeat since that would be the only song from the album anyone would know and then I wouldn’t look like a clueless idiot at the concert, right? Wrong.

March 10, 2012 at 9:00, after a very…interesting performance by his opening act Hell Beach, Jack White finally took the stage accompanied by a very empowering, all female band. Their presence literally filled the room before they ever made a sound. However that amazing feeling faded with the first song. It was new to me, but not to the voices singing all around me (which I swear had a hint of taunting laughter at the fact that I was ill prepared). His full set included “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground”, “Ball and Biscuit”, “I’m Slowly Turning Into You”, “Hotel Yorba”, “Seven Nation Army” and “We Are Going to be Friends”; and that was just some The White Stripes! He also performed “I Cut Like a Buffalo” by The Dead Weather and “Top Yourself” by The Raconteurs and a few other songs. Needless to say after the brief embarrassment I settled into the groove along the help of my significant other whispering which band originally played what song into my ear.

I think I’m becoming a fan…. I highly enjoyed the feeling of hearing not just 1 band but essentially 4 bands for the first time live. His music is 2 parts blues, a hint of folk, the perfect helping of grunge and tiny bit of blue grass which creates one of the most unique yet insanely fun blends of music I’ve ever heard. Each song was completely different and allowed me to freestyle dance accordingly. But what really clicked for me was that Jack White sang his heart out on that stage and it sounded almost identical to his voice on his albums.

So I say, you go Jack White, but make sure you come back of course. And I’m sure I’ll be attending more concerts just for another opportunity to discover a new band live


One response to “Jack Who? by Chelsea Crosby

  • Emily Gabriele

    I’m glad you are a confirmed Jack White fan.

    “His music is 2 parts blues, a hint of folk, the perfect helping of grunge and tiny bit of blue grass which creates one of the most unique yet insanely fun blends of music I’ve ever heard.”

    ^ I agree with this statement. I feel that you nailed a musical description of Jack White.

    I’m curious to know what you think of his album, Blunderbuss, in its whole. This Friday, 4/27, at 9pm Jack White is streaming an UNSTAGED performance. This may be something of interest for you. Here’s a trailer…

    http://www.youtube.com/JackwhiteVEVO

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

