Anne Hathaway as Catwoman, a Promising Investment? By Davina Reasons

When Warner Bros. and Christopher Nolan announced on January 19, 2011 that Anne Hathaway was being cast as Selina Kyle aka Catwoman for the next round of Dark Knight movies,  I was ecstatic! Some say that she will not pull off this role, just like everyone thought that Heath Ledger wasn’t going to be able to pull off the Joker. We see that Nolan obviously has a good eye for people for the roles for these movies. Anne Hathaway has never really been known as an “athletic” actor, however she has always nailed every role she has taken on. Although there were plenty of actresses that would have fit this role just as well as Hathaway, such as Charisma Carpenter, Kate Beckinsale and even Jessica Beil. But either the actresses are too old, to girl next door or just plan not fit for the role.  Hathaway has proven time and time again that she can in fact pull of a diverse array of roles.

The general consensus I have come across is that she is not athletic, she’s “too sweet” says Michal R. on Facebook. Some people that she has that Classic look, and others think that there will be too many stunt doubles with horrible screen shots. Here are a couple of points I have discussed with others about the pros and cons of Anne Hathaway portraying Catwoman.

  • “She’s an improvement over Katie Holmes” – Michael R. via FB
  • “She’s sophisticated, elegant even for the role” James M. via FB
  • “Anne Hathaway, if she nails it, it will be that much more impressive. And I wouldn’t worry about the stunts looking bad.” – Michael R. via FB
  • “I think maybe Ann Hathaway ACTS like a nice girl. Maybe this is going to be awesome – when she turns bad AND sexy?” – Morgen R. via FB
  • Cat Woman should be both an actress and an athlete, not just a pretty face. I don’t think Anna Hathaway has any experience with stunts. Doesn’t mean she couldn’t do a lot of training, but they’d be better off starting with an actress that can do more than look good in a princess gown. Wallace N. via FB’

Christopher Nolan seems to know what he’s talking about though, look at Heath Ledger as the Joker!  Anne Hathaway has demonstrated herself to have the ability to play Catwoman on several varieties of occasions, being able to tap into different dimensions of her characters, losing herself into her characters as neurotic as some of her roles have been. Although Rachel Getting Married was a flawed movie with a great performance, perhaps Nolan saw in that Oscar nomination grittiness the former Princess was able to bring to make for a promising investment for his vision.

9 responses to “Anne Hathaway as Catwoman, a Promising Investment? By Davina Reasons

  • Bridges To the Words

    I love her and love Catwoman but will I love them together? We shall see…Very timely post and love the interview/opinions!

  • socialmediastudent

    You know, I heard about her being the new Catwoman and I really couldn’t see it. But I must say I do love that pic you posted of her and I can’t wait to see her in that cat suit! Meow!!
    Tarvie Gilbert

  • Dahveenah

    I’m sayin! I was just thrilled, almost shrieking when i found out. I immediately called my boyfriend and then sent him the link. Of course he is way more interested in the guy who is going to play Bane!

    • socialmediastudent

      I to found it very appealing that he choice Anne Hathaway. She’s a great actress who does get really into her roles and character when she acts, so I’m anxious to see her portrayal of the seduction and sexy Catwoman. I’m a huge Batman fan so I can’t wait til’ the movie comes out!
      Andre Hitchcock

  • socialmediastudent

    Did you see her in that movie where she had let her younger brother die? I think it was something about a wedding. Her sister got married, maybe Rachel gets Married, i don’t know. But that really showed a side of her I’d never seen before. Her mother was Debra Winger in the movie and she totally rejected her.Dorothy

  • socialmediastudent

    Im excited to see her play the role, I think she will be a good fit for the role, not to mention she will look great in the outfit.-Jonathan Crowe

  • L Warren

    I wouldn’t have thought of her for the role at all. However, the image you added and the scenes you mention have helped me see the possibilities.

  • Dahveenah

    Anne Hathaway will be co-hosting the Oscars on Sunday, make sure to watch if you are into watching award shows like this. I, personally am not into watching award shows like I used to be as a kid, however, I’m thinking this Oscar Award Ceremony should be entertaining because she will be co-hosting with James Franco. Hope everyone has a great weekend and let me know what you thought about the Oscars, if you do end up watching them Sunday evening.

  • mobile news

    Thanks for some other magnificent post. Where else could anybody get that type of information in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such information.

