“As a Man Thinketh” by James Allen, Book Review by Jeremiah Thompson

as-a-man-thinketh-book-cover1

In James Allen’s short book, published in 1902, he provides the audience with the higher knowledge that the thoughts persons conjure is what manifests as your future. Allen, through what little chapters the book contains, explains that there is no gap between your mind’s workings and the actual material around you. His language is beautiful and profound, which pushes the reader to see the more noble side of English diction.

“We do not attract what we want, but what we are.”

To me, I hold his subjects very dear as a necessary part in my development as a young man. This book has kept me grounded in my thoughts and has altered the way I take on my days. It has shaped who I am now along with who I am becoming. It connected my beliefs to my actions and made me understand how important shaping good thoughts lead to a bountiful life.

I recommend this book to any individual in need of guidance or confidence. Allen perfectly condenses every subject I’ve struggled in a tight, retrospective light. Anyone in their early 20’s could absolutely learn and gain vast understanding from reading his striking work.

About csm3dia

A blog for sharing student media at Chattanooga State Community College. View all posts by csm3dia

Comments are disabled.

